Nostradamax – the awakening chapter 1

My brother Max – Original story by Drew Norman
Told from narrative from his younger brother Garrett
Movie is set in 1986. Small midwestern town. A 14 year old boy named Max discovers that his drawings somehow come to life. I dont mean in a animated cartoon like Mickey Mouse. But what this kid draws happens in the present. For Example he draws a bear with 3 heads and we hear on the news some guy about got eaten by a 3 headed bear. How is this possible? We discover later in the story that Max has some sort of abilities due to the fact that he is Autistic and his brain is very high functioning in most areas and poor in other like language and social skills. (this was before they even knew what Aspergers was). 
Max and I live with our MOM. My mom and dad split when I was a very young. He wanted a career in Airforce so he purused that. He lives in a bigger city. I dont blame him. I would leave to if I had a cool job lined up. Dad flew test planes for the Air force. I remember going to visit him and he would let us sit in the cockpit. Well Max didnt like doing that but I had a blast. Max was afraid of alot of things in the outside world Noise being one of them so a air force base was kinda loud so Max would bring his headphones and listen to his Prince music which helped calm him down. My brother was diagnosed with Autism when he was 6. OK well on with these incredible story about my brother. You see Max never told anyone not even mom about his powers. 
Max has always had artistic ability which surprised everyone since nobody in our family can draw a lick. One day Max was drawing this little robot character he loves Sci Fi. Lost in Space, Star Trek, Star Wars you name it he loved it always used his favorite pencil which mom got for him from this old antique shop that no longer in business today. I remember that day well Max was having one of his meltdowns so I ran into his room to see what was the matter. Max showed me his drawing then he opened his closet door and out flew this little robot almost looked a metallic bird it was flying all around the room hovering in mid air. Alright Max thats kinda cool so you drew one of your toys. Max was upset I wasn’t getting the seriousness of the situation. See Max could not speak he has always struggled with speech so he wrote down what he was trying to communicate to me. THIS IS NOT A TOY… Its real!!
I still didnt believe it so I tried to catch the little guy.. And kept flying away from me.. So I was like ok who is hiding the remote controller… Max went to his drawing board and erased the drawing 

Thats when the shit hit the FAN OMG the robot just started to vanish right before my eyes.
How did you do that Max? He just shrugged his shoulders… He quickly jotted down on his note pad. YOU CANT TELL MOM?
OK OK I wont… But can I tell Billie and the guys at School?
HELL NO Max replied. Some words he could say…

So my mom works at the school in cafeteria which is where all the action happens at school. So it kinda sucks cause I have to behave when I am in school or MOM will hear about it. Max has a special tutor to help with his shyness and lack of social skills but the kid is a genius in School Straight A’s since Kindergarten. He is actually going to start taking College course as a Freshman in High School which is pretty impressive. Max didnt have many friends. He had one he was a huge Star Wars nerd named Drew. 
My dad would get us on the weekends when he was not flying and we had a great we would go to Ballpark watch games, bike trails, Bowling, Movies we had loads of fun…Dad always wanted to take me up in a plane when I was old enough.
Dads disappearance
But about 6 years ago. Dad was on a test mission and he didnt come back. This devastated us both especially Max he and dad really connected both being huge art lovers and all. The Military never recovered the plane or Dads body…. Those 6 years of not knowing were rough on MOM as well she has had to play the part of both parents and dealing with Max is tough. He doesnt like change. Anything thats not part of his routine is a struggle for him. They say its part of his Autism. I did some reading on it and the type of spectrum that Max fits into is unknown at this time. I asked mom is there anybody in our family that has Autism? mom replied not that I know of. MOM has been in this foggy state of depression ever since dad went missing. I think there was never any closer which is why she is the way she is. We are concerned for her. We all miss him even though they divorced many years ago she somehow still cares for him.
She has not really got on with her life at all. I mean shes a great mom and all shes always there for us.

One day Max was drawing Space Shuttle for his School Project. One thing Max started to learn about his abilitys was if he didnt complete the drawing it didnt fully come to life. So He drew everything on the shuttle but didnt draw the solid rocket boosters.
The Shuttle Disaster

The News report could be heard all thru the school. Space Shuttle Challenger exploded in mid Flight all 7 astronauts on board including a school teacher were killed instantly.

The Space Shuttle Challenger disaster occurred on January 28, 1986, when the NASA Space Shuttle orbiter Challenger broke apart 73 seconds into its flight, leading to the deaths of its seven crew members, … Wikipedia

Date: January 28, 1986

Number of deaths: 7
There near Maxs drawing was the number 7 and 73.
The deaths took the lives of 7 Americans and happened 73 seconds into the flight. Max secret just hit a whole new level of Freakin weird. I knew what must be done. I had to destroy that drawing so Max would never know he may have been the cause of this accident. It would crush Max if he made the connection. 

I debated for hours should I talk to MOM about this before Max draws something else and someone gets killed. Then the thought dawned on me. What if Max could use his powers to find our Dad. What if Max could use his power to help police find missing people or prevent something bad from happening before it happens. Was Max a kind of Fortune teller? Or did he simply draw what came into his head? Altering the future could be a bad thing as it could screw up the nature of balance in the universe. Whoah that getting too deep.
Getting Max’s sketch book 
was going to be a tough task but it had to be done. I waited for Max to fall asleep then only then would I be able to grab his book without him noticing. I ran into the bathroom flipped on the light and started flipping thru his drawing. I noticed that none of them were completed. I grabbed a stack of newspapers and just started flipping thru seeing if any news items matched his drawings. I couldnt find anything. So it got me thinking is it the paper he is using or the pencils are somehow cursed with powers.
Finding the pencil maker. I asked mom if she knew the family that owned that store where she got all Max art supplies and she said they were this Indian family nobody knew much about them. I knew one of their kids went to our school. So I arranged a time after school for max and I to talk with the guy. We didn’t tell mom about us meeting the guy. The old Indian man knew we were coming he actually lived in a tee pee beside this beat up old trailer. We sat down max was did not like being there the young girl was our translator her grandpa didn’t speak English at all. My grandpa wonders why you are here. Well I explained the story about Max’s ability. Grandpa reached out and touched Max’s hand the old man knew Max was special. He responded this boy is a prophet you have the gift inside you… it’s not in your pencil it’s not in your paper you were chosen by the Gods to have this power Max responded in a soft tone I am? With this power comes much responsibility. Max how long have you been able to this? Garrett chimes in no let Max speak the old man exclaimed. Every since my dad went missing. Ah I see they are somehow connected.
Max has been been working on a video game idea for many years. A lot of his drawings are characters from that game. So somewhere in the world his game is real and alive. Which scares me.
Whoah I hope max is game is non violent .
I am still debating if I should tell mom. Or continue to hide this power max has. What would she do? I am worried she will overreact as always

Leave a Reply

